shopping cart
News Blog Shop Catalogue Artists About

Shelflife is excited to present the return of California Snow Story with their new album Some Other Places, coming May 27 on digital format.

David Skirving began California Snow Story in 2001 after leaving Scottish band Camera Obscura. David was a founder member and original guitarist of Camera Obscura and he gave the band their name. He wrote four songs on their debut album Rare UK Bird and guitar parts for their album Biggest Bluest Hi-Fi. David played with Camera Obscura at the legendary Bowlie Weekender festival in 1999.

California Snow Story first released music on Shelflife Records in the US in 2002 (One Good Summer EP) and released their first album Close to the Ocean in the UK and the Philippines in 2007. This album was the first release to feature vocalist Sandra Belda Martínez from Spain and keyboard player Madoka Fukushima from Japan. Except for the occasional live show, the band went on hiatus due to other commitments and living in different countries. California Snow Story continued to attract a following and gradually began working on a follow up album.

The new album features the same core members but also has guest vocals from occasional collaborator Melanie Whittle from the Hermit Crabs. Mel originally played drums and percussion for the band's live appearances. Additionally, vocalist Lupe Núñez-Fernández from Pipas / Amor De Diaz sings on the song "Outliers". Making the line up more international still, Kristoffer Solvang from Norwegian band The Loch Ness Mouse plays drums on two songs. This album (as with the other releases) was mastered by Jon Chaikin who has worked with bands such as The Pains of Being Pure at Heart and Black Tamborine.

Praise for California Snow Story:

"This may well be the summer album you need for those unhurried times in your life. It is relaxing and is sure to put a smile on your face and peace in your heart. "
- When Youm Motor Away

"This sounds like music made by thoroughly agreeable human beings; the kind of people who don't swagger or push themselves forward but who quietly get on with crafting beautiful music with pride. There is a one hundred per cent chance that, come year end, "Some Other Places" will be numbered among my very favourite records of 2016."
- Not Unloved

"...relax while your soul is filled with melody."
- Austin Town Hall

"I first heard California Snow Story's peaceful music in the olden Myspace days. Social networking sites may rise and fall in popularity but "A New Light to Guide You" - the song I heard at that time - sounds as sweet as ever. I'm lucky enough to have heard the upcoming release in advance. Filled with reflective, unhurried meditations on life, love and landscapes, "Some Other Places" is a quietly compelling and melodic album, like being on some secluded highway, with the road all to yourself, journeying towards a distant place but knowing you'll feel the same when you get there: optimistic, emotional and forward-looking. So glad I've renewed my acquaintance with this atmospheric group."
- Caeser (The Wake)

California Snow Story
Some Other Places

Release date: May 27, 2016
Catalogue number: LIFE144
Artwork by: California Snow Story

1. Motorway
2. Our New Sun
3. You'll Go Places
4. Outliers
5. Her Ocean Airport
6. Over The View
7. Railway Station
8. Fall In A Line
9. The Solitary Age
10. Don't Ever Go
Cover art hi-res