shopping cart
News Blog Shop Catalogue Artists About

Shelflife is thrilled to announce Airiel's second full-length LP, Molten Young Lovers, coming out on double LP and digital formats on Oct 13, 2017. This album is the much-anticipated follow-up to 2012's Kid Games EP.

"Cloudburst," the record's first single (which was released this past March), provides a clear insight into the record's magic. The huge chorus is carried by a vocal melody that stands out as the largest part, only complimented by the waves of cascading guitar. In fact, 'large' might be the best possible descriptor for Molten Young Lovers as a whole. The tracks on this LP have a larger-than-life quality, partly due to the crisp production. Kiss' drums are hard-hitting and clear, the guitars are enveloping and lush, and Blanton's basslines flesh out the walls of sound created by the rest of the band. Molten Young Lovers is an album that feels instantly seamless, but that doesn't prevent Airiel from covering a wide range of dynamic ground. Tracks like the opener, "This Is Permanent," and the final track, "The Painkillers," are uptempo songs carried by the unwavering rhythm section, while much of what's in-between--such as "Your Lips, My Mouth"--feel more reflective, without sacrificing any intensity.

In a 2011 interview, Wrenn mentioned that to others, he often describes his music as, "It's really loud, it's pretty and you can dance to it." At first, this might sound like a description that could fit any number of bands. However, upon diving into Airiel's new album, you'll find it to be both an apt description and an inarguable truth. Molten Young Lovers is a record too loud, too big, and too beautiful to be ignored.

Molten Young Lovers

Blue and black splatter on clear vinyl
(first press)

White vinyl (first press)
Blue and black splatter on white vinyl
(second press)

Release date: October 13, 2017
Catalogue number: LIFE142
First Pressing: Blue and black splatter on clear vinyl (200 copies) and white vinyl (300 copies).
Second Pressing: Blue and black splatter on white vinyl (250 copies)
Artwork by: Airiel / Matthew Edwards

1. This is Permanent
2. Cloudbusrst
3. Your Lips My Mouth
4. Molten Young Lovers
5. Mind Furnace
6. Sharron Apple
7. Song Of You
8. Inside Out
9. Keep You
10. Red Car
11. You Sweet Talker
12. The Painkillers
official site
Cover art hi-res