shopping cart
News Blog Shop Catalogue Artists About

Shelflife is proud to bring you We Thought It Was Okay at the Time (2013-2015), a three year-spanning compilation of songs released by the Spanish dream-pop duo Lost Tapes, out January 13 on limited edition off-white colored vinyl, cd and digital.

Made up of Pau Roca and RJ Sinclair (formerly of La Habitación Roja and Tokyo Sex Destruction, respectively), Lost Tapes are a small but formidable supergroup. However, they want to make it clear that this band is "by no means a side-project," and after listening to these tracks you won't need any further convincing. Both of these guys have a serious knack for crafting infectious melodies, and every track on this collection is likely to be stuck in your head for days after listening. Although they call upon influences like The Pastels and other c86-era groups, Lost Tapes channel the magic of those bands while gracefully sidestepping a derivative sound.

The duo's music captures a warm nostalgia, an emotion they're acutely aware of and heavily influenced by. "When you're young you think everything sucks," Sinclair has said, "but now I'd love to be back." This longing is an integral part of their songs, whose bright guitar melodies and enveloping synths invoke a comforting, reflective atmosphere. It becomes quickly apparent upon listening that We Thought It Was Okay at the Time is a record to get lost in.

Roca and Sinclair released their debut full-length album Let's Get Lost earlier in 2016, but it would be a shame to forget about the fantastic 7-inch and digital singles that came beforehand. You'll quickly realize that We Thought It Was Okay at the Time feels more like a fleshed out album than a compilation encompassing the first years of this group's existence. Don't miss your chance to own these 14 tracks from a band that is not only one of the most exciting bands coming out of Spain in recent memory, but the world.

Praise for Lost Tapes:

"...this is pure sunshine through and through."
- Under the Radar Mag

"I guarantee you'll turn it on immediately next time you're driving down a road and the sunset looks sweet."
- Black on the Canvas

"It's sterling work."
- Sound of Confusion

Lost Tapes
We Thought It Was Okay at the Time (2013-2015)

Release date: January 13, 2017
Catalogue number: LIFE124
Pressing: 250 copies on off-white colored vinyl
Artwork by: Matthew Edwards

1. War In The Netherlands
2. All I Miss
3. Rubber Bracelet
4. Poetry Dates
5. Lost In Youth
6. Blame It On Rio
7. Chances
8. Skylines
9. Teardrops
10. Moments Are Moments
11. Come With Me
12. Slumber Party
13. Raincoat
14. By You
Cover art hi-res