shopping cart
News Blog Shop Catalogue Artists About

Dylan Mondegreen makes his Shelflife debut with his third and most personal album to date.

Dylan Mondegreen is a pseudonym for Norwegian recording artist Børge Sildnes. Børge has been releasing quality pop music since the mid-2000s and has acquired a very dedicated fan-base worldwide. His two previous albums have sold more than 5000 copies, but this will be his first album officially released in North America.

The entire album was produced and mixed by the legendary Ian Catt, best-known for his work with Saint Etienne, The Field Mice and other bands on the Sarah Records label. The result is undoubtedly Børge's most gorgeous recordings to date! Symphonic and lush, the album is filled with string ensembles, woodwinds and percussion, delightly showing why he's been compared to the likes of Blueboy, Jens Lekman and Sufjan Stevens. The first single "It Takes Two" even features real steel drums as Børge is not afraid to use a wide range of instrumentation.

While the whole recording process itself was a lengthy one, the song "Life as a Father" gives a clue why this took even longer to complete. It's no doubt that there were some life changing events at work during this album's creation and it just made the songwriting even stronger. We're just lucky enough to get a musical glimpse into it all.

Dylan Mondegreen is out Tuesday, September 25th and available on 180 gram vinyl in a deluxe gatefold sleeve with download coupon, Compact Disc and digital formats.

For fans of: Jens Lekman, Kings of Convenience, Acid House Kings, Sondre Lerche, Prefab Sprout

Praise for Dylan Mondegreen:

"4.5 out 5!'s likely one of the best singer/songwriter records of 2012, and most any year that came before."
- All Music

"gorgeous and lush"
- Blurt

"4.5 out 5! ...makes me supremely happy"
- The Falcon's Nest

"If you're saddened by the dark nights, crap weather and freezing cold, stick this album on and bathe in its ability to whisk you away to a happier, warmer place. You won't regret it."
- Music Muso

"A pop masterpiece"
- Atlas and the Anchor

"Increase with depth and interest on each listening."
- Artree

"Dylan Mondegreen is a lovely, serene album for lovers of well-crafted, expansive pop and heartfelt simplistic tales of love and loss."
- Rhythm and Booze

"a Norwegian songwriter who hasn't released anything since 2009's The World Spins On. He writes sad, sweet songs - dare I make a Blueboy comparison? Perhaps! There are equal measures of Jens Lekman, Acid House Kings and Sufjan Stevens in there, too."
- NME, Jacob Graham (The Drums)

"Indie-pop has entered its soft-rock phase, and ... it sounds pretty good"
- Pitchfork

Dylan Mondegreen
Dylan Mondegreen

For orders in Europe:
For orders in Japan:
Release date: September 25, 2012
Catalogue number: LIFE093
Pressing: limited edition LP: 200 copies on 180 gram vinyl in gatefold sleeve
Artwork by: Børge Sildnes

1. Castaway
2. Come Tomorrow
3. Life as a Father
4. The Heart is a Muscle
5. it Takes Two
6. Keeper of Secrets
7. You Make It Easy
8. Yesterday When I Was Young
9. Tears All Over Town
One-sheet pdf
Cover art hi-res